My Favorite Things #13: Holiday Cookies You Must Try

holiday cookies, cookie recipes

When it comes to the holidays, there are some years I am on top of it; buying thoughtful gifts and wrapping them in hand drawn paper, baking cookies, making cards, and the week I have off between Christmas and New Year’s Day is incredibly relaxing.  I’m not sure what happened this year, but I wasn’t able to get half the things I wanted to accomplish done, but one thing I refused to let go was making a bunch of holiday cookies. Always overly ambitious, I made five different recipes.  Two were family staples, one is a holiday tradition, and two were new discoveries via Pinterest.This year we are having our family Christmas at my sister Theresa’s house in Chicago on December 27th.  My parents and my cousin spent Christmas Day watching movies and football and assisting me while I worked towards my goal of make five different kinds of cookies. I had to make the family staples of snickerdoodles and chocolate chip, but decided to try two new ones I discovered through Pinterest (check out my board), Deep Dark Chocolate Cookies and White Chocolate Topped Gingerbread Cookies.

My mom got a kick out of it and insisted I wear an apron and pearls like Julia Child. After one botched batch of sugar cookie dough and having to share the oven with a few veggie pizzas, I finished around 9 pm Sunday night. I think I accomplished the impossible and made enough cookies to last the eleven hour car ride to Chicago, three days of Christmas, a drive to Gary, South Dakota, and a few days with sixty plus family members.

These are some of the recipes (the secret family recipes will have to remain a secret):

Deep Dark Chocolate Cookies
White Chocolate Topped Gingerbread Cookies
Snickerdoodles
Chocolate Chip Cookies (Nestle Tollhouse)
Sugar Cookies with Frosting

Leave a Reply

