Holiday Break Woes

I find when I come home I lose all track of time – a sort of vacuum in the sales tax free state. I had no idea Christmas eve was Christmas eve the day of, but I have to pat myself on the back for spending only one hour shopping for my entire family at one store. the gifts were stellar if I do say so myself – antique jewelry for my sisters and my mom and an antique Kodak pocket camera for Dad

While in the vacuum, I feel cut off from the outside world. you never realize how dependent you are on Hofstra’s free subscription of the NYT’s until you are without it. All I do when boredom hits inside the vacuum is make lists.

Never
– watch Will Smith’s I Am Legend at night in the dark by yourself.
– get sucked into the same chick flick on HBO all weekend (P.S. I Love You – I HATE YOU FOR MAKING ME CRY!)
– forget I do NOT watch football. I’m waiting for the right guy to come along and only then will I feel obligated to watch football for hours on Sunday afternoons.
Books to Ready Before Going to Italy :
Let’s Go Italy 2009
The Ugly American
Rick Steve’s Best of Europe 2009
1984 (it’s been 6 months since I started)

“Top Albums of the Year” (according to Pitchfork) I need to acquire:
The Walkmen – You & Me
Portishead – Third
Gang Gang Dance – Saint Dymphna (if you have never seen them live it’s an out-of-body experience)

Top Places to See People from My High School Whilst At Home:
Borders Books & Music
Church
Anywhere on Main Street in Newark

One thought on “Holiday Break Woes

Leave a Reply

