the pile of newspapers in my dorm room measures about 3 and a half feet high

I was in painting this morning and a girl was playing music off of her computer (the thing was minuscule, it was literally half the size of my laptop!!!) and she was claiming to be playing an Eric Clapton mix. Without any preparation or warning, “Lady in Red” starts playing and I wonder what sort of mood this girl was trying to create at 9:30am on a Monday morning. When hearing the song, everyone remembered the Smart Ones commercial from a few years back with a woman dancing around in a red dress. Honestly, I had no idea that Clapton is responsible. Oh, how I was ashamed of the amount of tv I watched as a kid (too much).

My pet peeve is when commercials on tv somehow sneakily have the ability to use music I adore. This past year along, I have heard Fiest, Apples in Stereo, Arcade Fire, Band of Horses, The Rapture, and I think Devotchka more often on tv than my own ipod. I know the origins of the music, but what happens in a few years when our children are talking about how that funeral song they guess was by Band of Horses just makes them recall a girl staring out of the moon roof of a Ford Edge 2008.

Music is created, ideally, to help evoke some sort of emotion or progressive insight, not to help recall advertisements for luxuries like cars, cell phones, and diamond necklaces your husband lays on your neck while you’re sleeping (what if she didn’t wake up and instead rolled over and broke it?).

Leave a Reply

